Wednesday, October 4, 2023
HomeWorld NewsWorld Darts Championship 2022/23: Today's order of play as world ... -...

World Darts Championship 2022/23: Today's order of play as world … – Sporting News

Another double session of darting drama awaits on Day 5 of the 2022/23 PDC World Darts Championship from the Alexandra Palace.
The champion here two years ago, world number one Gerwyn Price starts his quest to regain the title with a tie against Luke Woodhouse during the evening session.
A field of 96 players representing 28 different countries are set to compete at the Alexandra Palace in London during the 30th edition of the PDC World Darts Championship. 
MORE: Join DAZN to stream the World Darts Championship in the US and Canada
Andrew Gilding vs. Robert Owen (Round 1)
Danny Jansen vs. Paolo Nebrida (Round 1)
Niels Zonneveld vs. Lewy Williams (Round 1)
Jose de Sousa vs. Simon Whitlock (Round 2)
Geert Nentjes vs. Leonard Gates (Round 1)
Ritchie Edhouse vs. David Cameron (Round 1)
Steve Beaton vs. Danny van Trijp (Round 1)
Gerwyn Price vs. Luke Woodhouse (Round 2)
MORE: World Darts Championship 2022/23 draw, schedule, results, seeded players
Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor is the most successful player in PDC World Darts Championship history having won the title 14 times, with his victories spanning from 1995 to 2013. Taylor also won two BDO World Championship titles in 1990 and 1992.  
However, Dennis Priestley claimed the first PDC World Darts Championship in 1994 when he defeated Taylor 6-1 in the final. 
In total, just ten players have won the PDC World Darts Championship. 
Phil Taylor – 14 times (1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2013) 
Michael van Gerwen – 3 times (2014, 2017, 2019) 
John Part – 2 times (2003, 2008) 
Adrian Lewis – 2 times (2010, 2011) 
Gary Anderson – 2 times (2015, 2016) 
Peter Wright – 2 times (2020, 2022) 
Dennis Priestley (1994) 
Raymond van Barneveld (2007) 
Rob Cross (2018) 
Gerwyn Price (2021)
The PDC World Darts Championship is held at the Alexandra Palace in north London. The tournament has been staged there every year since the 2007/08 edition. 
Prior to this, the event was staged at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet, Essex from when the tournament began in 1993/94.



Most Popular