Tuesday, February 27, 2024
HomeFootballFIFAWorld Cup awards tracker 2022: List of all the FIFA prizes as...

World Cup awards tracker 2022: List of all the FIFA prizes as Messi … – Sporting News

2022 FIFA World Cup winners Argentina dominated the board in terms of individual awards at the end of the final on Sunday, December 18 in Lusail.
Having won the Player of the Match award in the final, Lionel Messi casually jogged back out to receive the Golden Ball gong, deservedly being named the best player of the tournament — an accolade he also received when Argentina won the Copa America in 2021.
Kylian Mbappe was rewarded for his ruthless hat-trick in the final by receiving the Golden Boot as the top scorer across the finals.
Here’s the latest on who’s won what on the most prestigious stage in football.
MORE: World Cup awards: Top players, coaches, goals, moments from FIFA Qatar 2022 as judged by The Sporting News
Seven additional awards were handed out by FIFA after the final, with five decided by the FIFA technical committee, and via a FIFA-held fan vote.
The Golden Boot, Golden Ball, Golden Glove, FIFA Young Player and FIFA Fair Play Trophy were all confirmed by FIFA with supporters given the key role in selecting the Goal of the Tournament and Most Entertaining Team.
A post shared by Sporting News Football Club (@sn_footballclub)
The main criteria for this award is the most goals scored by a player at a World Cup, with a secondary tiebreaker coming into play, in the event of a tie, of the player with more assists being given the trophy, followed by minutes played.
Mbappe and Messi were level on five before the final, the France forward outscoring his Paris Saint-Germain teammate to finish one ahead on eight goals.
Kylian Mbappé’s World Cup career by numbers so far:

◉ 14 games
◉ 12 goals
◉ 2 assists
◉ 1x Golden Boot
◉ 1x trophy

And he’s scored more goals in the Final than any other player in the tournament’s history.#FIFAWorldCup pic.twitter.com/UnHLUHnyAy
MORE: Full breakdown of Golden Boot award
This award is decided from a shortlist of players drawn up by the FIFA committee, with the winners voted for by FIFA-accredited journalists at the tournament. Messi was the clear choice after his heroics. 
⭐️ MESSI ⭐️

Our @adidas Golden Ball Award winner!#FIFAWorldCup | #Qatar2022
This is given to the best goalkeeper at the competition, as assessed by FIFA, with clean sheets the key focus.
Aston Villa goalkeeper Martinez kept three clean sheets and was one of the heroes of Argentina’s shootout wins over the Netherlands — in the quarterfinals — and then France in the final to win the trophy.
There when it matters most 🇦🇷

Emi Martinez takes the @adidas Golden Glove Award! 🧤#FIFAWorldCup | #Qatar2022
This award was amended slightly to become an official FIFA award in 2006, with the trophy given to the best under-21 player at the World Cup.
Mbappe took the award at the 2018 World Cup, and 21-year-old Benfica midfielder Enzo Fernandez succeeded him after cementing himself as a breakout star at the finals for Argentina in the Qatar showpiece.
This is a team award decided by FIFA’s disciplinary team based on an assessment of “exemplary fair play” at a World Cup, with FIFA praising UEFA for their decision to award Denmark the award at Euro 2020.
The Danish players were noted for their show of solidarity towards Christian Eriksen’s on-pitch treatment after he suffered a cardiac arrest during the group stage clash with Finland.
England won the World Cup version in Qatar 2022 for a third time, after collecting just a single booking across five games on their way to the 2022 quarterfinals.
This award was created by FIFA in 2006, to give fans a greater role in deciding awards, with Maxi Rodriguez, Diego Forlan, James Rodriguez and Benjamin Pavard among the winners previously.
The results of the 2022 edition has not been announced yet but will be updated here as soon as it’s confirmed.
🚀🇫🇷OFFICIAL: @BenPavard28‘s stunning goal for @FrenchTeam v Argentina has been chosen as the @Hyundai_Global #WorldCup Goal of the Tournament!https://t.co/U0WEmz7dOM pic.twitter.com/BnsbNWoCKI
Another award brought in ahead of USA ’94, as fans cast their vote on a team that has won them over for entertainment value at a World Cup.
No team has won it more than once, ahead of 2022, but France secured the award alongside winning the World Cup as hosts in 1998.
The results of the 2022 edition has not been announced yet but will be updated here as soon as it’s confirmed.



Most Popular