Monday, June 17, 2024
HomeFootballFIFAWho won the 2022 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball? Best player at...

Who won the 2022 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball? Best player at Qatar tournament announced after Argentina final victory – Sporting News

Who else could it have been? Lionel Messi had his hands on a trophy before he even grasped the World Cup for the first time as the Argentina captain won the 2022 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball award.
Messi won the award for the best player at the tournament, jogging back out to bask in the glory in front of a stadium crammed with ecstatic Argentina fans in Lusail.
The 35-year-old inspired his side to their third World Cup title – their first since 1986 – and became the first player to score in every round of a single edition of the modern format of the finals, joining the players and teams to receive additional honours once the final kick had sealed glory for the Copa America holders.
Paris Saint-Germain striker Messi finished his tournament with two goals and an ultra-cool successful penalty in the shootout as Argentina beat 2018 champions France following a 3-3 draw after extra time.
⭐️ MESSI ⭐️

Our @adidas Golden Ball Award winner!#FIFAWorldCup | #Qatar2022
While every player dreams of lifting the World Cup trophy, the tournament does provide the chance to pick up some special individual silverware as well.
The Golden Ball in its current form has been given out since 1982 World Cup and is awarded to the best overall player at the tournament. 
This honour is notably different to the Golden Boot, which is awarded to the player who simply scores the most goals. 
As the name suggests, the Golden Ball comes in the form of a gold trophy shaped like a football.
MORE: World Cup prize money reaches new high
The Golden Ball is given to the best performing player at each World Cup.
A FIFA technical committee decide on a shortlist of players they believe are worthy of the award, with the ultimate winner decided by media representatives. 
All players for teams that qualify for the tournament are eligible regardless of whether their side wins the whole thing or not. 
In fact, not since 1994 has the Golden Ball winner also actually won the World Cup at the same tournament. 
Outfield players have historically fared best when it comes to receiving the honour with Oliver Kahn the only goalkeeper to ever win the award.
MORE: World Cup awards: Top players, coaches, goals, moments from FIFA Qatar 2022 as judged by The Sporting News
Messi became the first player to win two Golden Balls when he collected the award for a second time at Qatar 2022. 
He previously got the honour in 2014 when Argentina lost the final to Germany. 
Argentina, Brazil and Italy are the only countries to have had two different Golden Ball winners in their history.
Absolutely unstoppable 🇧🇷​🔥@Ronaldo | @CBF_Futebol
After winning the Golden Ball in 2014, Messi succeeded in becoming the first player to win it twice by claiming the ball again in 2022. 
The Argentine star confirmed Qatar would be his last World Cup and went out as a winner with his national team. 
France attacker Antoine Griezmann was a consistent creative force at the finals who was named by many as a dark horse for the award, while Kylian Mbappe – a partner in attack for Messi at Paris Saint-Germain – was in contention as he scored eight times to win the Golden Boot, including a hat-trick in the final.
Mbappe had to settle for second, with Croatia playmaker Luka Modric finishing third after playing a pivotal role in his the 2018 finalists’ run to the semifinals.



Most Popular